Begin typing your search above and press return to search. Press Esc to cancel.


The Commission

The Commission for Equity in Health consists of nine commissioners and a chairman. The members are all appointed by the government on basis of their commitment and their knowledge of issues related to health equity.

The Commissioners have different backgrounds and expertise that are crucial for the broad inter-sectorial approach of the Commission, including not only health inequalities in general but also education, environment, labor market and employment, social insurance, and healthcare.


Olle Lundberg

Professor of Health Equity Studies

Olle Lundberg is Professor of Health Equity Studies at CHESS, Stockholm University and Karolinska Institutet. Professor Lundberg has more than 30 years of experience from research on welfare and living conditions, health inequities and social determinants of health. He has also contributed as an expert and Task Group Chair international commissions, including the WHO Commission on Social Determinants of Health and the Review of Social Determinants and the Health Divide in the WHO European Region.


Maria Albin

Professor of Occupational and Environmental Medicine

Maria Albin is Professor of Occupational and Environmental Medicine at Karolinska Institutet (KI) and Chief Physician and Director of the Center for Occupational and Environmental Health at Stockholm County Council. She is also affiliated to Lund University.


Åke Bergmark

Professor of Social Work

Åke Bergmark is Professor of Social Work at Stockholm University. His research includes welfare arrangements, local social services, social assistance and evidence based practice. He has been appointed as a member of the National Welfare Commission and served as a Research Director at the Swedish Institute for Futures Studies. Åke is currently Chief Editor for International Journal of Social Welfare.

Laura Hartman

Associate Professor of Economics

Laura Hartman is Associate Professor of Economics at Uppsala University. She has nearly 20 years of research experience in welfare policy issues from the Institute for Evaluation of Labour Market and Education Policy (IFAU), Centre for Business and Policy Studies (SNS), The Swedish Agency for Public Management (Statskontoret) and Försäkringskassan (Swedish Social Insurance Agency). Laura has previously been Insurance Director at the Swedish Social Insurance Agency and member of the Swedish Fiscal Policy Council.

Margareta Kristenson

Professor of Social Medicine

Margareta Kristenson is Professor of Social Medicine and Chief Physician at the Department of Medical and Health Sciences at Linköping University and the Region of Östergötland. Her research area addresses the causes of socio-economic differences in health, in particular the importance of psychosocial factors and stress. Margareta is Chairman of the Swedish Association of Social Medicine and was president of a Commission for Equity in Health in Östergötland 2013-2014.


Per Nilsson

Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Education

Per Nilsson is Vice-Chancellor of Ersta Sköndal University College and professor of Education. Previously he has been Director General of the Youth Board and the Vice-Chancellor of the Swedish School of Sport and Health Sciences in Stockholm. His research has focused on leisure time relevance and importance in the lives of young people, sport and the cultural environment and the importance in the present. Per Nilsson is also President of the Swedish National Centre for Research in Sports (Centrum för idrottsforskning).

Anna Sjögren

Associate Professor of Economics

Anna Sjögren is Associate Professor of Economics at the Institute for Evaluation of Labour Market and Education Policy (IFAU), Uppsala University. Her research focuses on education, human capital, family economics and the labor market. At present, she is involved in projects studying the effects of Swedish school reforms, and the importance of school and family policies for child health, and human capital development.

Denny Vågerö

Professor of Medical Sociology

Denny Vågerö is a professor at Stockholm University. He was one of the founders of CHESS, Centre for Health Equity Studies in Stockholm, and is a member of the Swedish Royal Academy of Sciences. Denny was a commissioner in the WHO Commission on Social Determinants of Health and in WHO Euro’s “Review of social determinants and the European health divide”. His research focuses on why health inequalities are reproduced in each new generation in spite of economic development, modern medicine and the democratic welfare state.

Ing-Marie Wieselgren

Physician and specialist in psychiatry

Ing-Marie Wieselgren is Physician and Specialist in Psychiatry. She works at the Swedish Association of Local Authorities and Regions (SALAR) with development in the area of psychiatry. Ing-Marie is also, together with Kerstin Evelius at the Ministry of Social Affairs, National Coordinator of Psychiatry.


Per-Olof Östergren

Professor of Social Medicine

Per-Olof Östergren is professor of Social Medicine, with a special focus on Social Epidemiology, at Lund University. He has more than 30 years’ experience in research and academic teaching about the social determinants of health, particularly regarding stress in working life and social relations and health. Per-Olof has also served as expert in different contexts, such as member of the Malmö Commission (Commission for a socially sustainable Malmö) and participated in various projects initiated by the WHO Healthy Cities Network.